You are here: Home
School Information

School Information

6806 Garrett Rd.
Durham, NC 27707
(919) 560-3912 Office
(919) 560-9116 Fax
(919) 560-3769 Guidance
(919) 493-2228 Fax
Hours:  7:30 - 2:30
Jerome Leathers, Principal

       Welcome to Charles E. Jordan High School!

Welcome to Charles E. Jordan High School!

  • FFA Students Receive Awards in the Central Piedmont Jr. Livestock Show.  See details below.

  • Rocketry team qualifies for national finals!  See story below.



    Congratulations to our students selected for Governor's School 2014!

    Bailey Storms (Art)

    Vivian Cox (Spanish)

    Henry Kistler IV (English)

    Michael Spears (Math)

  • The Jordan FFA Varsity Livestock Judging team competed recently, finishing 20th in the state out of 70 teams.

  •        Welcome to Charles E. Jordan High School!




    William Morgenlander placed 5th among over 100 comprehensive
    students in the Wake Tech State Math Contest. He advances to regional competition in the state
    finals in April.

FFA Students Win Awards at Show

Congratulations to the Jordan FFA students who won awards at the recent Central Piedmont Livestock show:

Ashley Jenkins – Reserve Grand Champion Showmanship Overall, 1st in class for Showmanship, 1st in class for Market.

Morgan Harper – 2nd in class for Showmanship, 2nd in class for Market.

Carly Phelps – 3rd in class for Showmanship, 1st in class for Market.

Hannah Foust – 1st in class for Market.

Calvin Affleck – 4th in class for Showmanship.

Bryant Liles – 4th in class for Market.

(Showmanship – student is judged on how well they control & display the animal.  Market – animal is judged for conformation and structural soundness.)

Rocketry Team Qualifies for National Finals!

Flying their rocket "American Eagle," the Jordan Rocketry team's qualifying score of 41 was among the 100 best out of 713 participating teams nationwide.  They are the only team out of six schools in the Durham area and one of only three teams from NC that qualified for the finals.  The team  bounced back from an earlier setback which forced them to rebuild part of their rocket in order to make qualifying flights before the deadline.

Team members are Nikolas Kreiling, team leader, Millicent Blivin, Colin Eimers, Rachel Hill, Nicholas Holmes, Andrew Kelly, Michael Lawson, Thomas Morris, Amar Patel and Sam Taylor.
While not officially on the team, Lauren Phillips provided a beautiful painted eagle on the team’s rocket.


The finals are scheduled for May 10th near Washington, DC.   The winner of the finals advances to represent the United States in the international version of the competition in Paris in June (trip sponsored by Raytheon Corporation).  Click here for details.

Document Actions